Working Girl Meals: Spicy Sausage with Red Beans and Rice

Let me start my first “working girl meal” post by saying I am not, nor do I claim to be a fancy cook. I am just a girl who loves food and tries her best to create fast, delish meals during the week for me and my hubby. I have very little patience (I’m working on this…hey, at least I am self-aware people) so recipes with few ingredients and fast clean up really appeal to me. You will notice that I take a lot of inspiration from Claire Robinson’s “5 Ingredient Fix”. I love that you don’t feel daunted by a ton of ingredients but everything is super flavorful, which is all that matters in the end. So I’ll share with you one of my go-to meals during the week. Actually, it only has THREE ingredients so…BAM, in your face Claire (just kidding, I love you).

Grocery List:

  • 1 package hot Italian sausage  (preferably Roman Brand)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 package of reduced sodium Zatarain’s red beans and rice

The first thing I do is get the red beans and rice going as it takes 25 minutes to simmer and then 5 minutes to cool. Just follow the steps on the box. After the Zatarain’s is on the stove and simmering away, I heat the olive oil in a large sauté pan. In the meantime, I simply cut the sausage casings off and crumble the sausage meat into the pan. That way they are perfect bite size pieces.  I like the sausage to get a lot of color so I usually let them cook until the red beans and rice are done and I stir them frequently to get even color.  Then you get a great big bowl and combine them both and…voilà! You’re done in 30 minutes!

The reason why my husband and I love this dish so much is that New Orleans is our absolute favorite city. So, this is a version to get those New Orleans flavors in a quick weeknight meal. If you have more time (and patience) than me then you can certainly add ingredients like peppers and onions to the sausage. Also, a little Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top is tasty.  Please don’t judge me for using a boxed ingredient, as I said I am not a fancy cook and more often than not I’m short on time! I know once you try it, you’ll love it. 🙂

Happy Cooking!

1 thought on “Working Girl Meals: Spicy Sausage with Red Beans and Rice

  1. Fancy or not this recipe looks to be chock full of flavor! And isn’t that what we are always looking for? Sounds great!!!

Leave a comment