The Dining Room Miami Review

I consider myself to be a lucky gal. So when my buddy (and fellow foodie) Briner over at ButterNBurbon suggested I enter a gift certificate giveaway on Twitter to The Dining Room, I jumped all over it. I was their 400th fan and won $25 and a bottle of wine of my choosing.

When going to Miami for dinner, things can get tricky. With many restaurants being run by high-profile chefs with large advertising budgets, it’s hard to decide. With that being said, it’s nice to find a tiny, neighborhood gem that would have gone unnoticed in the shadows of the industry giants. The Dining Room is tucked away on Washington Ave, just south of 5th. It’s a small, but quaint bistro and you can’t pass up the opportunity for some great people watching while you dine outside!

First off, I have to say the service was probably the best I’ve ever had in Miami. They were VERY accommodating and attentive. Also, I was extremely impressed with the “freebies” that are offered at the start of the meal. House made pickles, warm bread and truffle butter…oh yeah!

My girlfriend and I stared the meal with vanilla butternut squash soup with green apple and celery sprouts. I was so glad we split it because the portion was huge and quite satisfying. Anyone who has gone out to dinner with me knows I like to try a little bit of everything and going halfsies is one of my favorite things. So, my friend ordered the very decadent brown butter mushroom gnocchi and I asked for the branzino (my favorite fish!). We divided the plates and got to enjoy each entrée. As you would suspect, the gnocchi was delicious. Doesn’t the best stuff always seem to be bad for you? The branzino was cooked whole and had very crispy skin which always wins me over. All in all, the meal was a 10!

I’m sorry I can’t comment on dessert. The two of us were stuffed to the gills. However, when I returned home and Tweeted about my good time, The Dining Room graciously offered to send over a signature recipe and I have that here to share with you!

Sweet potato gnocchi with mushrooms and lemon butter sage sauce

For the gnocchi:

  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 egg
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup of leftover bread crumbs
  • Pinch of nutmeg

Method: Preheat the oven 400 degrees, bake the sweet potatoes until tender and fully cooked between 40 to 50 minutes. Let them cool slightly and then mash the sweet potatoes. Add the rest of the ingredients, blend well mixed until the dough is soft.

Divide the dough in 5 equal balls. Roll out each ball into a 1 inch wide rope and cut each roll into 1 inch pieces.  Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the gnocchi and cook until tender about 4 minutes.

Sauce:

  • 3 oz butter
  • 8 oz shitake mushrooms (whatever mushroom you have leftover)
  • 5 leaves of fresh sage
  • 1 cup vegetable stock

Method: Sauté the mushrooms in one spoon of butter. Add the sage and the stock. Bring to boil and then add the remaining butter. Toss gnocchi’s in the sauce and finish with grated parmesan cheese and lemon zest.

Let me know in the comments below if you try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

